Newsboys' Strike: 120th Anniversary Project

Yes, you read that right. Newsies. You may or may not have seen the infamous Disney musical called "Newsies" with a David and Goliath story line and some pretty sweet costumes and accents. Heck, they even made a Broadway musical out of it.

Well, once upon a (long) time ago, I was very passionate about the real story behind the movie. Who were the newsies? What did they really say and do? Seriously, were there really kids named "Kid Blink" and "Racetrack"? You bet there was! Believe me, I know. Because I did dozens, if not hundreds, of hours of research at the New York Public Library, scrolling through miles of microfilm to hunt down every. single. article. I believe I may have the most research on this topic than anyone out there. (Okay, there may be one or two other people, but I really think I have more.)

It was always a goal of mine to somehow get all these articles up on the internet for people to read for themselves. The Newsies' story is a pretty good one. And it's not really like the way Disney tells it. (surprise!) It's about time I set the record straight.

And so begins my project.

(If you'd like an easy introduction to this story, Don Brown wrote a fun children's book about it called Kid Blink Beats the World.)

Newsboys Strike: An Anniversary Celebration!

Newsboys' Strike of 1899: 120th Anniversary - The Beginning

Newsboys' Strike: 120th Anniversary - Friday, 21 July 1899

Newsboys' Strike: 120th Anniversary - Saturday, 22 July 1899

Newsboys' Strike: 120th Anniversary - Sunday, 23 July 1899

Newsboys' Strike: 120th Anniversary - Monday, 24 July 1899

Newsboys' Strike: 120th Anniversary - Tuesday, 25 July 1899

Newsboys' Strike: 120th Anniversary - Wednesday, 26 July 1899

Newsboys' Strike: 120th Anniversary - Thursday, 27 July 1899

Newsboys' Strike: 120th Anniversary - Friday, 28 July 1899

Newsboys' Strike: 120th Anniversary - Saturday, 29 July 1899

Newsboys' Strike: 120th Anniversary - Sunday, 30 July 1899

Newsboys' Strike: 120th Anniversary - Monday, 31 July 1899

Newsboys' Strike: 120th Anniversary - Tuesday, 1 Aug 1899

Newsboys' Strike: 120th Anniversary - Wednesday, 2 Aug 1899

Newsboys' Strike: 120th Anniversary - Closing Remarks & Finale Bonus!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Things Were So Cheap Back Then!... or were they?

Vintage Autumn Celebration Finale: Week 13 - Mapley Finale!

Project 52: Rationing - Week 14 - Sandwich Fillings